3 Breads, Well, 2 Worth Repeating

December 2, 2008 at 12:58 pm 1 comment

Went to my sister-in-law’s and her family’s Thanksgiving Celebration, an absolute bonanza of food and family fun. My 2nd Thanksgiving away from home in 36 years, and I was feeling a little sad. So happy when I asked “What can I bring?” she replied, “Something special from your family celebrations.” Easy right? Except we, like everyone, have an amazing amount of gorgeous food, some traditional and some experimental, but very little that repeats itself, except for “the basics.” But here’s what I made, and I’m putting it here so I can find the recipes again in years to come, since these breads are delicious, and, like everything on Thanksgiving, even better the next day!

Lemon Bread

(I hear this was much beloved by my Aunt Marg, who snitched at regularly)

INGREDIENTS
1 c. sugar
1 1/2 c. flour
1 t. baking powder
1 1/2 t. salt
8 T. Crisco (I think I often use softened butter)
Rind of one lemon
2 eggs
1/2 c. milk
1 c. chopped nuts
Glaze: 1/2 c. sugar and juice of one lemon
DIRECTIONS
Stir together first four ingredients. Grate lemon rind into this mixture. Add Crisco/butter and mix well. Add milk and unbeaten eggs. Add nuts.
Spoon into 3 small or 1 regular loaf pan (greased). Bake at 350 for 40-50 min. As soon as the loaf is done, remove from oven, prick the top (like for lemon cake), loosen the sides, and spoon the glaze over the warm loaf. Remove from pan while still warm. When cool, wrap and freeze. (It’s easier to slice thinly while frozen.) Voila!
I really like this lemon bread toasted – so buttery!
Cranberry Bread (This recipe is from the back of the Ocean Spray fresh cranberries bag)
recipeid234INGREDIENTS:

2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup orange juice
1 tablespoon grated orange peel
2 tablespoons shortening
1 egg, well beaten
1 1/2 cups Ocean Spray® Fresh or Frozen Cranberries, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup chopped nuts

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Grease a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan.

Mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda in a medium mixing bowl. Stir in orange juice, orange peel, shortening and egg. Mix until well blended. Stir in cranberries and nuts. Spread evenly in loaf pan.

Bake for 55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool on a rack for 15 minutes. Remove from pan; cool completely. Wrap and store overnight. ( I freeze all the breads to make them easier to slice thin – nobody wants much, too many other good things). Makes 1 loaf (16 slices).

Pumpkin Bread
OK, I got this recipe online to round out the “trio” of breads, and it does not bear repeating. Can anyone help me with their favorite pumpkin bread recipe? Raisins? Nuts? Chocolate chips? I’ll try anything. I made this one with applesauce, which is a concept I like, but the bread itself just came out too boring. Oh well, it looked pretty.
Happy Holiday Season, no reason these yummies can’t attend other holiday brunches, dinners, whatever – enjoy!
Entry filed under: Family, Recipes.

WBWB – Wolff/Behringer Wedded Bliss Solitaire ’til Dawn

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Party  |  December 9, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    The few times we’ve gone away for T-giving, I’ve taken jelly jars and Jamesons! Always a hit….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

