Reading Holiday

February 23, 2008 at 1:14 am 3 comments

41gk2jny12l_ss500_.jpgDianaSnowBack before the holiday vacation  I listened to Nick Hornby book: “How to be Good” and liked it VERY much. And then I listened to “The Diana Chronicles” and ate it up like butter.  Getting lucky, except I’m also slogging through “Snow” on my ipod and it’s cruel and unusual punishment – as if the treadmill wasn’t bad enough already.

51ip5wf0grl_ss500_.jpgAnd then I read a book with a very clever title: An Arsonists Guide to Writers’ Homes In New England. And liked it very little. Did anyone else read this? It took weeks, since I’m stubborn like that, and I just never got the hang of it. I’m sure I missed something, since I loved the title and had really high expectations. Or maybe that was the problem.

51wrd7y890l_bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_sh20_.jpg

And then my brother recommended this book, “The Russian Debutante’s Handbook.” Kristine once told me how much she loved it, then I forgot about it. And now I have finished, and again it took a while. This is totally unlike me.  Am I losing my touch or am I, as my mom liked to say in high school, making poor choices?

Hollis

StargirlAnd for the younger set: LOVED: “Pictures of Hollis Woods.”  Nah: “Stargirl” – and I am a Jerry Spinnelli fanatic so this is seriously disappointing.  Next I plan to read a book recommended by a boy in my class set at Alcatraz called “Al Capone Does My Shirts.”

So, Gentle Readers, any books you are ripping through? Help me with my New Year’s resolution. On my list so far: The Jane Austen Book Club (thanks Candy).  OK, and fiction is about all I do, be forewarned that if you recommend nonfiction, your choice will have to have some serious intrigue for me.  As for fiction, obviously I’ll read any old crap.

Entry filed under: Books.

Happy Holidays from the Nonblog Met Meet

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sdh  |  February 23, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Elke and I are having a Gossip Girl book club, you are welcome to join! There are 12 books, plus a spinoff series called The It Girl. The earlier books are better (the later ones and the spinoff are ghost written, and you can tell).
    I really enjoyed Steve Martin’s new autobiography, Born Standing Up. It’s not fiction, but he’s very funny and it’s entertaining. If you haven’t read his fiction, (Shopgirl and The Pleasure of My Company, plus some plays) they are good quick reads.
    Next up for me is The Peabody Sisters, which my mom lent me 2 years ago and I still haven’t started.

    Reply
  • 2. Party  |  February 23, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    I am having terrible luck with books this year. Of course, I forget to write down the names of books I hear about on NPR or read about, so that doesn’t help. My random selections off the library shelves have not been successful.

    I did listen to Nick Hornby’s “A Long Way Down”. The readers were terrific and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Laughed out loud, driving down route 17 to your neck of the woods.

    Fiction is also my reading of choice, although for some reason, I want to read the autobiography of Valerie whatever her last name is, the CIA agent who was identified by one of Bush’s guys.

    Keep up the recommendations!

    Reply
  • 3. Anna  |  March 4, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    What a perfect day to read this! I just last night (or actually, THIS MORNING at 1:30 a.m.) finished the best Jodi Picoult book yet, Second Glance. I never would have thought I would get SO entrenched, but WOWOWOWOWOWOWOW.

    Redefined “couldn’t put it down” for me. Especially since mornings come early around my place.

    So glad to see you in the blogworld again! 🙂 Missed you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

