EWMM on This I Believe

June 28, 2007 at 12:25 pm 5 comments

tib_banner4.gif

I had the nicest coffee last week, with my cousin EWMM. She is an English teacher in our fair city. Her school has never sounded like a fair place, and the grind of it would have most teachers running for stay-at-home something or other. She had some serious sparkle, however, as she slid her notebook of student essays across the table. Beautifully bound with pride, inspired student-drawn cover artwork. Her project studied essays from “this i believe” – reading & listening to the NPR files, then writing their own.

(The following is from the website)

What is This I Believe?

This I Believe is an international project engaging people in writing, sharing, and discussing the core values that guide their daily lives. These short statements of belief, written by people from all walks of life, are archived here and featured on public radio in the United States and Canada. The project is based on the popular 1950s radio series of the same name hosted by Edward R. Murrow.

(Mary Chapin Carpenter, one of my faves, is the banner author of the week.)

She wrote one herself, “Drive Therapy.” “A good long aimless drive can cure a lot of ails.” (Go to Rusharaound link for a hilarious story of a good long aimless drive. R, hope it cured a lot of ails.)

This is great teaching, and I am filled with admiration.

I will use the links on these home pages – see the left column – “For Educators.” Thank you EWMM for the inspiration and a great read.

Entry filed under: Family, Teaching.

St. Maarten Bound Way Upstate, Wedding Weekend

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  July 2, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    Now I know this makes for an awkward transition from your interesting, brainy post, but with ONE MONTH to go before your wedding, I sincerely hope we’ll be seeing some wedding planning stories.And related material.

    Because come on, all the world loves a bride. And the stories a bride-to-be can tell, too.

    Waiting patiently,
    Anna

    Reply
  • 2. Jess  |  July 3, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    You’re right. Who the heck to I think I am with all my NPR references? I’ll get to work soon. We’re using the 4th for moving and golf (again, who do I think I am?).

    Reply
  • 3. elizabeth  |  July 3, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Thanks for the review JSW(K). It turned out alright! And I can’t wait to do it again.

    But seriously now…get to work preparing for that wedding!!!!!

    ewm

    Reply
  • 4. lve  |  July 7, 2007 at 1:30 pm

    just letting you know I am still reading, and how very Jess of you to be working on next year… but it does sound like a great project, just need to think on what I believe… other than my boy is very cute, even if he does look like a big boy now with his new hair cut…love you
    l

    Reply
  • 5. kboogie  |  July 30, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    AHHK- Look how much you’ve been blogging this past month!! Great stories. Thanks for linking me! I just loaded pictures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

