Urinetown on the Road

June 13, 2007 at 8:46 pm 5 comments

urinetown_large.pngI amazingly made it through this whole production at Geva without standing in the ubiquitous ladies restroom line once! Must have been the salty pre-show greek salad. Sorry, potty-talk is completely unavoidable.

A little late on this musical – but I’m downstate bound. In the meantime, we get our theater 6 years after it booms in NY. This was worth waiting for. This show has so much going for it, even the local-theater glitchies were not so important. So much to think about. Read 2001 NYT review here. The final cry of “Hail Malthus“set the show into a whole different relief for me. I had been thinking about the health care system and Michael Moore’s new movie Sicko. As I said, a lot going for it. And very, very clever.

As Little Sally says, “I don’t think too many people are going to come and see this musical.” I felt the same until last night. There’s a reason it made it on tour.

Plus, I got to spend time with my 3 Geva Divas.  Dinner alfresco, a glass (2?!) of wine, and the usual lots and lots of laughs.  Downstate has up-to-date theater, but it cannot hold a candle to these friendships.

Entry filed under: Long Island, Way Upstate.

Blessings Water, Call, Mall, Fall, Buttafuoco

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LVE  |  June 14, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    I am impressed, and jealous of your time to do all this, read, write, contemplate. I am going to miss you more than I can think about. I think that is why in my mind your are just going to visit D for the summer, your not really going to live there….

    Reply
  • 2. Em  |  June 14, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    Jess, I would love to be your new downstae theaterpal when you g et here! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Anna  |  June 14, 2007 at 5:40 pm

    Um, I would just like to live a life where I could BE your theater pal–that sounds so FUN! And it doesn’t sound sticky, loud and busy, the way everything is in our house these days.

    Reply
  • 4. libound  |  June 14, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    Em, let’s start getting some dates on the books. Sad same problem – we’ll afford 1/4 of the trips we could take to the theater in rochie. Geva Divas have not committed to a trip yet, but I can be very persuasive, LVE, so be careful. Anna – it’s not so far! There’s always Mary Poppins!

    Reply
  • 5. Jess  |  June 17, 2007 at 12:12 am

    Ok, no great package deals for a year of Broadway. Only discount tix are Wed. matinees or TKTS booth day of the show. So, keep looking downstate friends, I need my theater fix.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

