Flipped the Bird

June 8, 2007 at 12:27 pm 5 comments

Yup, just over the Throg’s Neck. Welcome to LI. Now, I know I was weary, only semi-signaled, and didn’t really know if I was in the right lane, but come on buddy! Gimme a break!

So my new blog idea is this: Road Rage Recovery. People can go on and atone for their sins. I would have apologized if I had his cell number, or one of those police megaphones on my car. Instead, my half-wave was probably interpreted as my own obscenity (he WAS passing me at high speed on the right – a hanging offense upstate).

So here goes, man in white shirt, with little silver car, who I cut off on the Throg’s Neck bridge, I’m sorry, Man.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Long Island, Way Upstate.

Rockville Centre Condo for Sale Blessings

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gabe  |  June 10, 2007 at 1:01 am

    There is actually a web site devoted to reporting the license plates of bad drivers. To what end, I am not sure. I found this when I should have been doing my grading. How and why did I find this? I’m not really sure…
    Sorry about the migrating pink-eye! How did you go so long without getting it? I’ve had it at least twice, and I don’t even work with little kids!
    The site looks great, and it’s a fun way to stay in touch. How long is a comment suposed to be, and can everybody read them? I think so…hello…

    Reply
  • 2. libound  |  June 10, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Hi! Perfect comment, they can be any length and yours has added bonus of being informative, and funny. Yes, a great way to keep in touch. And comments are really positive reinforcement. Thank you.

    Was it platewire.com you found? I just found it. Seems to serve the purpose of ???, exactly what I was looking for. Did not see my plate on there – whew. Looks like you can also give commendations for good driving and “wink” at cute drivers. Funny!

    And, thanks for the pink-eye sympathy. I have no idea how I escaped for so long.

    Reply
  • 3. Rush  |  June 12, 2007 at 2:50 am

    I’d like to atone for a driving sin of my own today. I was talking on the phone and changing lanes and nearly continued into the left lane except… …there was a car hiding in my blind spot there.

    I swerved back into Lane #2 and let the guy pass. Continued to talk to Marc. The driver of the car two cars behind my near victim gave me a thumbs up as he passed. For what? The 70 Max sticker on the back? The Bio-dieselness of my car? I’ll never know.

    I’m just glad I saw the blind-spot lurker in time. (And my plate is “clean” on the Platewire site.)

    Reply
  • 4. Anna  |  June 12, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    I like the plain old atonement option, kind of like those “missed encounters” classifieds you see in the papers of cities bigger than my own.

    Reply
  • 5. Rush  |  June 14, 2007 at 10:56 am

    I probably should also atone for my continual bad habit of “drawing a foul” — when I deliberately get reeeeally close to drivers who cut their turn or do that sneak-out-into-the-lane-and-block-traffic-while-waiting-for-a-left-turn move. But I’m not ready to park myself in the blog-confessional because I kind of enjoy playing a tough guy behind the wheel when I’ve been wronged by discourteous drivers. And I plan on doing it again if given the opportunity. Maybe on my way to work this morning if I’m lucky.

    Righteous-driver therapy, anyone?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

