THIS is the face of Pink Eye

June 5, 2007 at 1:34 pm 11 comments

img_2251.jpgSo, this is pink eye. I kind of wonder how I got this far without ever experiencing it before. Lovely. Unfortunately, after a misdiagnosis of allergies, since my eyes have both swelled shut, it has gone untreated for three days and I have brought pink eye to the masses. Or at least 15 first graders and my entire family. The horror, the horror.

At least it is not August 3.

The bright side: Some people cheer me up by saying I look like Audrey Hepburn in my big shades. Keep it coming, folks. No chance this diseased ego will get too big for britches.

Another bright side: I can do the backlogged work I have been struggling to get to. Or blog.

Reading? I’m not reading, sillies, did you hear my eye is swelled shut? BUT, any addict finds a way. I’m listening to a pulpy crime/thriller called “Dirty Blonde” by Lisa Scottoline. It has been a godsend. It would move along any car-ride.

Entry filed under: Books, Family, Teaching.

Breaking News! Blog Doubles Readers!! Rockville Centre Condo for Sale

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  June 5, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    Oh you poor thing! One of your beautiful peepers is a pink peeper today! I have heard a wet (cool! not hot) teabag on your eye can help relieve the infection and inflammation. Just what you needed, eh–home remedies!

    But like you said, at least it isn’t August 3. Which means you have slightly less than two months to recover. Hee. Hee. Can you believe it is less than two months?

    Have you invited any of the WM crew here yet? They will LOVE IT!!! Red just left her first comment on mine, I’m pleased to report.
    Anna

    Reply
  • 2. libound  |  June 5, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    Thanks for the cheerleading, A, and the home remedies. Eye #2 is just starting to unswell. Never, never, allow this into your home. Although, as a single adult living alone, it may be the perfect disease. I can’t work, but I can make phone calls, appts., and surf websites. This wedding will be planned by tomorrow. Yes, coming quickly, and I can’t believe it!

    Going a little more public today, with your prodding. WM and a few other dear readers coming into the fold. Will call soon. Questions, also about moderating comments.
    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 3. Annelise  |  June 5, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    Wow…I’ve never done this before, but we may have stumbled on a way to stay connected from opposite coasts. You have pink eye – and I have a bum back. I’m not sure which would be worse for a wedding. Lesson learned: don’t get too cocky while rockclimbing for the first time. I felt like an athritic spider, dangling precariously from her thread. Anyway – glad to see you are blogging Jess. I may join the fray myself one day.

    Reply
  • 4. libound  |  June 5, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    Bum Back. Bummer. Ran into Bob at the pub. mkt. He seems to have it the worst of all of us – poor teeth. He was buying oysters to treat himself. Smart man.

    Please, Please, Blog! You are one of the funniest writers I know. Hurry. Plus, you are a media rat, and an excellent photographer, moviemaker, etc. Call me, write, or email. I’m a total novice, but I have friends who will help. Check out WordPress, it’s their fave.

    Reply
  • 5. Anna  |  June 6, 2007 at 12:32 am

    Hi Annelise!

    I remember you best as the person in San Fransisco who taught me that a good belt of Pepto can keep you going long past dinner. How’s that for something to be known for! (And how’s that for a shamefully poor sentence!)

    Jess, I have visions of you with tea bags on your eyes, like giant Mr. Magoo circles. May you heal soon!
    Anna

    Reply
  • 6. Amy Stein  |  June 6, 2007 at 2:19 am

    So I’m responding to a blog? Who knew I could/would do this?? It’s only because it’s you AND I just filled out my response card for the wedding of the summer (beautiful wedding invitations, glad I waited until now to see them………..ahem…..). Pink eye sucks – how did you wait until you were 36 to contract it?

    One funny thing I should admit about blogs – I started to put a comment on the Daily Show blog a couple of weeks ago because I was so irritated that Jon Stewart used the word “irregardless” one night (the horror) – but once I saw gobs of other people had already jumped on it, I was too lazy to go through all the hassle of setting up a user name, etc.

    That’s all I’ve got for you tonight! (And these probably aren’t supposed to be this long anyway…) Have a good weekend, talk to you when you get back. xoxo to Dan

    Reply
  • 7. Mom  |  June 6, 2007 at 2:48 am

    How fun to think of Anna, Annelise, and pink eye all in the same sentence. Maybe this blog thing creates a new universe of connections.

    Reply
  • 8. Rush  |  June 7, 2007 at 2:56 am

    Forcing a little chuckle here because in the past hour my own eye has gotten kind of puffy. The forced chuckle is of the “what a funny coincidence but of course mine is just allergies” sort. [worried face]

    Did I mention how happy I am that you’re blogging?

    Reply
  • 9. Who me, ROCKING? « Hank & Willie  |  July 3, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    […] nominate Jess at Long Island Bound! for facing the world with pink eye, and also on being a new blogger while job hunting, relocating […]

    Reply
  • 10. AML  |  July 3, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    Hi Jess! Anna’s friend Anne here checking in from Connecticut College. She’s been keeping me in the loop about all of the grand things happening in your life – many congrats! So sorry about that pink eye…I’ve been there. Granted, I was a teenager, but it was still miserable. Hope we run into each other soon!

    Reply
  • 11. libound  |  July 4, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    Hi Anne! Great to hear from you! Hope M. is great too. I love that you picked my most lovely of entries to ring in on!
    I hope you are having a great summer and that now that I will live closer I will get to see all you pals in CT more! Thanks for checking in!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

